← Radar Projects to watch · europe

Seven projects to watch.

Large projects being built in 2026–2029, with real demand for technical professionals, spread across regions and kinds. A selection — not a ranking. Follow any of them in your Radar.

Europe · Construction supervision & QA/QC

Showing 7 of 29 · Construction supervision & QA/QC, in Europe. Show all

How we check

Every project is checked by hand against at least two public sources — company newsrooms, regulators, trade press. No commercial databases.

Each card shows its sources and the date we checked them (every project in this set: on or after 2026-10-08). We re-check every month; a project that finishes or is cancelled leaves the tour.

Companies appear as sourced project facts only. Reported risks are shown as reported. The discipline lists are our own inference and say so. The small dots are other projects from public datasets — context, not checked by us.

  1. 01 / 07Nuclear

    Hinkley Point C nuclear power station

    United Kingdom

    The UK's first new nuclear build in a generation.

    Size2 x EPR reactors, ~3.2 GW total

    1. FID
    2. Engineering
    3. Fabrication
    4. Construction (named in the reported phase)
    5. Installation
    6. Commissioning

    Phase, as reported: construction …

    Who builds it

    • EDF operator
    • China General Nuclear

    Reported risk Delayed a year to 2030…

    5 sources checked on 2026-10-08

    More why we watch it · key dates · all contractors · sources

    Why we watch it

    The UK's first new nuclear build in a generation — years more of heavy electromechanical, instrumentation and commissioning work ahead, and a well-documented case study in how schedule risk and productivity shortfalls play out on a first-of-a-kind reactor build.

    Phase in full, as reported

    construction (electromechanical installation phase, per EDF's 2026 schedule update)

    Reported risk in full, as reported

    Delayed a year to 2030; total project cost risen to about £35bn (nearly double the original 2016 estimate, ~£48.7bn in today's terms), with EDF citing lower-than-expected productivity in its electromechanical installation programme; a further delay to 2031 could add ~£1bn more.

    Who builds it as stated by the sources

    Operator / developerEDF (with China General Nuclear as minority partner)

    • EDFdeveloper, majority owner, main contractor
    • China General Nuclear (CGN)minority investment partner

    Key dates as stated by the sources

    Unit1 target
    2030 (revised, one year later than previous target)

    Disciplines likely needed our inference

    • E&I supervision
    • mechanical/piping construction
    • QA/QC
    • construction management
    • commissioning (later phase)

    Derived by us from project kind and phase - not stated by the sources below.

    Sources checked on 2026-10-08

    1. EDF announces Hinkley Point C delay and rise in project costWorld Nuclear News · 2026
    2. Hinkley Point C's cost climbs to £35bn with confirmation Unit 1 will power up in 2030New Civil Engineer · 2026-02-20
    3. EDF highlights Hinkley Point C's positive impactsWorld Nuclear News · 2026-05-28
    4. EDF: 2026 half-year resultsEDF (via GlobeNewswire) · 2026-07-31
    5. Hinkley Point C (project page, news items incl. 1 Oct 2026 fish-return tunnel)EDF Energy · 2026-10-01

    Position on the globe: 51.20°N 3.13°W. Location approximate: Somerset, England.

    This project on its own page - facts, sources and a summary to share.

  2. 02 / 07Nuclear

    Sizewell C nuclear power station

    United Kingdom

    The UK's second EPR project, now financially closed and in early construction.

    Size2 x EPR reactors, ~3.2 GW total; projected to supply up to 7% of UK electricity demand

    1. FID
    2. Engineering
    3. Fabrication
    4. Construction (named in the reported phase)
    5. Installation
    6. Commissioning

    Phase, as reported: construction …

    Who builds it

    • Sizewell C Ltd operator
    • EDF
    • UK Government / La Caisse / Centrica / Amber Infrastructure

    4 sources checked on 2026-10-08

    More why we watch it · key dates · all contractors · sources

    Why we watch it

    The UK's second EPR project, now financially closed and in early construction — a long, front-loaded civils and infrastructure phase now, with the bulk of mechanical/E&I/commissioning demand still ahead for 2027-2035.

    Phase in full, as reported

    construction (early civil works — site infrastructure, road/rail bridges, piling — as of the 2026 construction updates)

    Who builds it as stated by the sources

    Operator / developerSizewell C Ltd — EDF (12.5%), UK Government (44.9%), La Caisse (20%), Centrica (15%), Amber Infrastructure (7.6%)

    • EDFminority owner, reactor technology/design (EPR), delivery partner
    • UK Government / La Caisse / Centrica / Amber Infrastructureco-investors following financial close

    Key dates as stated by the sources

    Construction start
    15 January 2024
    FID financial close
    22 July 2025
    Construction duration
    Projected 9-12 years

    Disciplines likely needed our inference

    • civil/structural engineering
    • construction management
    • planning/project controls
    • E&I (later phase)
    • commissioning (later phase)

    Derived by us from project kind and phase - not stated by the sources below.

    Sources checked on 2026-10-08

    1. UK's Sizewell C achieves financing landmarkWorld Nuclear News · 2025-07
    2. Sizewell C nuclear power stationEDF Energy (company project page) · 2026
    3. Sizewell C Construction Update March 2026Aldeburgh Town Council (local authority update, citing Sizewell C Ltd) · 2026-04
    4. In pictures: Freight trains deliver construction materials to Sizewell C for first timeNew Civil Engineer · 2026-09-14

    Position on the globe: 52.21°N 1.62°E. Location approximate: Suffolk, England.

    This project on its own page - facts, sources and a summary to share.

  3. 03 / 07Grid & HVDC

    NeuConnect — UK-Germany electricity interconnector

    United Kingdom / Germany

    One of the largest point-to-point interconnectors under construction in Europe.

    Size1.4 GW, ~700 km of land and subsea cable

    1. FID
    2. Engineering
    3. Fabrication
    4. Construction (named in the reported phase)
    5. Installation
    6. Commissioning

    Phase, as reported: construction — converter-station fit-out …

    Who builds it

    • NeuConnect Britain / NeuConnect Deutschland operator
    • Siemens Energy
    • Prysmian

    4 sources checked on 2026-10-08

    More why we watch it · key dates · all contractors · sources

    Why we watch it

    One of the largest point-to-point interconnectors under construction in Europe — HVDC cable and converter-station work running in parallel with the North Sea's own HVDC build-out (e.g. TenneT's programme).

    Phase in full, as reported

    construction — converter-station fit-out (mechanical and electrical systems) under way in the UK and Germany since September 2026; over 350 km of the ~725 km cable route laid

    Who builds it as stated by the sources

    Operator / developerNeuConnect Britain / NeuConnect Deutschland (investors led by Meridiam, Allianz, Kansai Electric Power and TEPCO)

    • NeuConnect (project company)developer/owner
    • Siemens Energysupplied all 14 converter-station transformers, delivered by May 2026
    • Prysmiansubsea/land cable supply and installation (named by NeuConnect as its cabling contractor)

    Key dates as stated by the sources

    Construction start
    July 2023 (onshore)
    Startup target
    2028

    Disciplines likely needed our inference

    • electrical/HVDC engineering
    • cable installation supervision
    • civil works (converter stations)
    • commissioning
    • HSE

    Derived by us from project kind and phase - not stated by the sources below.

    Sources checked on 2026-10-08

    1. NeuConnect's huge 700km cabling programme reaches halfway pointNeuConnect Interconnector (company newsroom) · 2026-07-23
    2. NeuConnect reaches construction milestone with all 14 transformers now delivered to UK and German sitesNeuConnect Interconnector (company newsroom) · 2026-05-11
    3. NeuConnect moves into next stage of construction with Converter Station fit out works now underwayNeuConnect Interconnector (company newsroom) · 2026-09-25
    4. Fit-out of NeuConnect's converter stations in progressOffshore Energy · 2026-09-25

    Position on the globe: 51.45°N 0.71°E. Location approximate: UK converter station, Isle of Grain, Kent; German landing near Fedderwarden/Wilhelmshaven is the other endpoint.

    This project on its own page - facts, sources and a summary to share.

  4. 04 / 07Grid & HVDC

    TenneT 2GW offshore grid programme

    Netherlands / Germany

    The backbone grid build-out behind essentially every North Sea wind farm coming online this decade.

    SizeAt least 14 platforms of 2 GW each by 2032 — at least 8 in the Netherlands and 6 in Germany

    1. FID
    2. Engineering
    3. Fabrication (named in the reported phase)
    4. Construction (named in the reported phase)
    5. Installation (named in the reported phase)
    6. Commissioning

    Phase, as reported: fabrication / installation …

    Who builds it

    • TenneT operator
    • Heerema Marine Contractors
    • Allseas
    • GE Vernova–Seatrium
    • more under “More”

    7 sources checked on 2026-10-08

    More why we watch it · key dates · all contractors · sources

    Why we watch it

    The backbone grid build-out behind essentially every North Sea wind farm coming online this decade — a long, steady programme of platform fabrication and offshore installation work spread across multiple Dutch main contractors.

    Phase in full, as reported

    fabrication / installation (second 2GW jacket, IJmuiden Ver Gamma, in construction since September 2026; first jacket, IJmuiden Ver Beta, due offshore summer 2027, topside 2H 2028)

    Who builds it as stated by the sources

    Operator / developerTenneT (Dutch/German transmission system operator)

    • TenneTdeveloper/grid operator, FID holder for the 14-platform programme
    • Heerema Marine Contractorstransport & installation framework agreement, awarded ~60% of lots; building a new float-over barge for 30,000+ tonne substations, deploying SSCV Sleipnir
    • Allseastransport & installation framework agreement, remaining lots
    • GE Vernova–Seatriummain contractor for the IJmuiden Ver Beta, IJmuiden Ver Gamma and Nederwiek 2 converter platforms
    • Heerema Fabrication Groupbuilds the jackets for those three converter platforms in Vlissingen, commissioned by GE Vernova–Seatrium

    Key dates as stated by the sources

    Programme target
    2032 for full 14-platform build-out

    Disciplines likely needed our inference

    • structural/fabrication engineering
    • marine installation supervision
    • E&I
    • commissioning
    • project controls

    Derived by us from project kind and phase - not stated by the sources below.

    Sources checked on 2026-10-08

    1. TenneT awards transport and installation slots for 2GW offshore platforms to Allseas and HeeremaTenneT (company newsroom) · 2023-2024
    2. Heerema to Build New Float-Over Barge for TenneT's 2GW Program Offshore PlatformsHeerema Marine Contractors (company newsroom) · 2025-01
    3. Construction starts on TenneT's second 2GW jacketOcean Energy Resources · 2026-09-18
    4. TenneT awards contracts to Allseas and Heerema for 2GW offshore platformsNS Energy · 2023-05-18
    5. Heerema signs framework agreement for transportation and installation of TenneT's 2GW programHeerema Marine Contractors (company newsroom) · 2023-05-17
    6. Jacket for TenneT's IJmuiden Ver Beta Platform Starts Taking ShapeoffshoreWIND.biz · 2026-08-31
    7. Mammoet supporting Heerema with offshore wind topsides floatoverOffshore Magazine · 2025-07-08

    Position on the globe: 52.60°N 3.70°E. Location approximate: Multiple 2GW platforms across the Dutch and German North Sea EEZ; coordinate is an indicative Dutch-sector location, not a specific platform site.

    This project on its own page - facts, sources and a summary to share.

  5. 05 / 07Refinery & fuels

    SkyNRG DSL-01 sustainable aviation fuel plant, Delfzijl

    Netherlands

    Europe's first standalone greenfield SAF plant, built under a Technip Energies EPCC contract in the EUR 500 million to 1 billion class.

    Size100,000 tonnes of SAF per year plus 35,000 tonnes of sustainable by-products; on-site hydrogen plant (SMR)

    1. FID
    2. Engineering
    3. Fabrication
    4. Construction (named in the reported phase)
    5. Installation
    6. Commissioning

    Phase, as reported: construction …

    Who builds it

    • SkyNRG operator
    • Technip Energies
    • Topsoe
    • KLM Royal Dutch Airlines

    3 sources checked on 2026-10-08

    More why we watch it · key dates · all contractors · sources

    Why we watch it

    Europe's first standalone greenfield SAF plant, built under a Technip Energies EPCC contract in the EUR 500 million to 1 billion class — two years of process, piping, E&I and commissioning work on one Dutch site.

    Phase in full, as reported

    construction (financial close and start of construction announced 2026-02-13)

    Who builds it as stated by the sources

    Operator / developerSkyNRG

    • Technip EnergiesEPCC contractor (engineering, procurement, construction and commissioning) after completing the FEED; contract classed by Technip Energies as 'substantial' (EUR 500 million to 1 billion)
    • TopsoeHydroFlex hydroprocessing technology licensor (HEFA pathway), as reported
    • KLM Royal Dutch Airlinesprimary off-taker and equity shareholder, as reported

    Key dates as stated by the sources

    Contract award
    2026-02-12 (Technip Energies EPCC)
    Financial close construction start
    2026-02-13
    Startup target
    mid-2028, as reported by trade press

    Disciplines likely needed our inference

    • process engineering
    • piping engineering
    • E&I
    • construction supervision
    • commissioning

    Derived by us from project kind and phase - not stated by the sources below.

    Sources checked on 2026-10-08

    1. Technip Energies awarded a substantial contract for SkyNRG's Sustainable Aviation Fuel project in the NetherlandsTechnip Energies (company newsroom) · 2026-02-12
    2. SkyNRG starts construction on its first SAF plant in Delfzijl, the NetherlandsHydrocarbon Processing · 2026-02-13
    3. SkyNRG announces Financial Close and starts construction on its first Sustainable Aviation Fuel plant DSL-01 in DelfzijlGroningen Seaports (port authority newsroom) · 2026-02

    Position on the globe: 53.31°N 6.95°E. Location approximate: Chemical park at Delfzijl, Groningen province; coordinate is the park, not the plot.

    This project on its own page - facts, sources and a summary to share.

  6. 06 / 07Deepwater FPSO

    Yggdrasil (Aker BP)

    Norway

    A three-platform development now estimated at NOK 195 bn (nominal, Oct 2026): the last topsides go offshore in late 2026.

    Size~700 million boe; 57 wells on three platforms; 250 km power cable from shore

    1. FID
    2. Engineering
    3. Fabrication
    4. Construction
    5. Installation (named in the reported phase)
    6. Commissioning

    Phase, as reported: offshore installation and hook-up …

    Who builds it

    • Aker BP operator
    • Aker Solutions
    • Subsea 7
    • Allseas
    • more under “More”

    Reported risk Cost growth…

    7 sources checked on 2026-10-08

    More why we watch it · key dates · all contractors · sources

    Why we watch it

    A three-platform development now estimated at NOK 195 bn (nominal, Oct 2026): the last topsides go offshore in late 2026, with hook-up, commissioning and subsea installation running into 2027.

    Phase in full, as reported

    offshore installation and hook-up (Hugin B topside installed early July 2026; Munin topside loaded out at Aibel Haugesund, ready for sail-away Aug 2026; Hugin A topside sail-away scheduled December 2026; power from shore commissioned June 2026)

    Reported risk in full, as reported

    Cost growth: Norway's 2027 state budget (7 Oct 2026) puts Yggdrasil at NOK 195 bn nominal, up 9.8% in a year and from NOK 120.8 bn at PDO; Aker BP raised investment guidance in July 2026 to hold the 2027 start-up.

    Who builds it as stated by the sources

    Operator / developerAker BP

    • Aker BPoperator (Hugin licence 76.72%); partners Equinor and Orlen Upstream Norway
    • Aker SolutionsEPC and offshore hook-up for the Hugin A production platform and jacket and the Hugin B unmanned wellhead platform and jacket (contract ~NOK 22 bn, Dec 2022); plus subsea production systems (~NOK 7 bn)
    • Subsea 7SURF package (per Offshore Technology project profile)
    • Allseastopsides installation (per Offshore Technology project profile)
    • NKTsubsea power cables (per Offshore Technology project profile)
    • AibelEPC of the Munin unmanned production platform topsides (Haugesund)

    Key dates as stated by the sources

    FID
    December 2022
    Pdo approval
    June 2023
    Hugin a first steel cut
    September 2023
    Hugin b topside sailaway
    2026-07-06
    Subsea final deliveries
    2028 (per Aker Solutions 2022 release)
    Startup target
    2027 (Aker BP aims for summer 2027)
    Hugin a topside sailaway
    December 2026 (scheduled)

    Disciplines likely needed our inference

    • offshore hook-up and commissioning engineers
    • subsea/SURF installation engineers
    • E&I and control systems engineers
    • structural/marine operations engineers
    • HSE and completion management

    Derived by us from project kind and phase - not stated by the sources below.

    Sources checked on 2026-10-08

    1. Aker BP sends Hugin B topside to Yggdrasil in the Norwegian North SeaPortNews · 2026-07-06
    2. Aker Solutions Secures Multiple Contracts with Aker BP – Record High Order IntakeAker Solutions (company newsroom) · 2022-12-16
    3. Yggdrasil Field Development, North Sea, NorwayOffshore Technology
    4. Aker BP increases project cost estimates to protect 2027 startupsOil & Gas Journal · 2026-07-15
    5. Aker BP narrows 2026 production guidance as major Norway projects advanceWorld Oil · 2026-07-15
    6. Mammoet completes critical topsides operations for Aker BP's Yggdrasil projectWorld Oil · 2026-08-13
    7. Costs of Aker BP's flagship offshore projects continue to rise (Reuters)Baird Maritime · 2026-10-07

    Position on the globe: 59.90°N 2.20°E. Location approximate: Central North Sea, Norwegian shelf, ~160 km west of Kollsnes near Bergen; water depth 110–120 m.

    This project on its own page - facts, sources and a summary to share.

  7. 07 / 07CCS

    Northern Lights CO2 transport & storage — Phase 2

    Norway

    The reference project for CCS-as-infrastructure in Europe.

    SizeRaises transport & storage capacity from 1.5 to more than 5 million tonnes CO2/year

    1. FID
    2. Engineering (named in the reported phase)
    3. Fabrication (named in the reported phase)
    4. Construction
    5. Installation
    6. Commissioning

    Phase, as reported: engineering / fabrication …

    Who builds it

    • Northern Lights JV operator
    • Subsea7
    • Aker Solutions
    • SLB OneSubsea

    4 sources checked on 2026-10-08

    More why we watch it · key dates · all contractors · sources

    Why we watch it

    The reference project for CCS-as-infrastructure in Europe — offshore pipeline, injection wells and receiving-terminal expansion all running in parallel, a template for the CO2 value chains (incl. Porthos in Rotterdam) that Dutch engineering firms are also chasing.

    Phase in full, as reported

    engineering / fabrication (detailed engineering in full swing, fabrication underway at several yards per March 2026 reporting)

    Who builds it as stated by the sources

    Operator / developerNorthern Lights JV — Equinor, Shell and TotalEnergies (each 33.3%)

    • Equinor / Shell / TotalEnergies (Northern Lights JV)developer, FID holder
    • Subsea7technical service provider — EPCI of a ~5 km CO2 pipeline plus satellite structures, umbilicals, tie-ins, offshore ops 2026-2027
    • Aker SolutionsEPC contracts for Phase 2 (scope not itemised in sources checked)
    • SLB OneSubseaEPC contract for the CO2 subsea injection system

    Key dates as stated by the sources

    FID
    March 2025
    Startup target
    From 2028

    Disciplines likely needed our inference

    • pipeline/subsea engineering
    • process engineering (terminal)
    • offshore installation supervision
    • commissioning
    • HSE

    Derived by us from project kind and phase - not stated by the sources below.

    Sources checked on 2026-10-08

    1. Northern Lights Phase 2: Expanding Europe's CO2 Storage CapacityNorthern Lights (project operator) · 2025-2026
    2. Northern Lights: a CO2 transport and storage project to reduce industrial emissions in EuropeTotalEnergies · 2026
    3. Subsea7 starts engineering for Northern Lights Phase 2 CO2 pipelineOffshore Magazine · 2026
    4. Investing NOK 7.5 billion in expansion of the groundbreaking Northern Lights CCS-projectEquinor (company newsroom) · 2025-03-27

    Position on the globe: 60.61°N 4.87°E. Location approximate: Øygarden receiving/injection terminal near Bergen, Norway.

    This project on its own page - facts, sources and a summary to share.